Rhyme

Magnetic Midnight

I submitted this poem earlier in the week as part of my portfolio, and I wasn’t going to share it here because it’s a bit too silly and sweet to be considered significant. But I decided to share it with you guys anyways because it was relatively well-received in workshop and I kind of love it.

I wrote this poem as an imagined (and highly improbable) modern love story between the two gods Aurora and Boreas who inspired the technical name for the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis). Aurora was the Roman goddess of dawn and Boreas was the Greek god of the North Wind. The fact that one was Roman and the other Greek should immediately tell you that the poem was only inspired by fact. I used what I learned about them as individuals and my awe-inspiring fascination with the Northern Lights as a natural phenomenon, and pieced together a story about them. The lines that seem odd and random are based on actual stories of the two gods, and the clichéd and predictable ideas are my own.

That should do it.
I hope you all are well. I hope to be around more now. Thanks for sticking with me!

Magnetic Midnight

Aurora and Boreas met at a bar.

When he extended his hand to her there was a shock between their palms.

They laughed.

Boreas bought Aurora a tequila sunrise to match her copper eyelids.

He told her about growing up in the Milky Way and how his dad always missed his conch solos at his winter recitals.

Aurora told Boreas about her sister, with equal parts tenderness and disdain, but signed her letters “to the moon and back” because she always knew just how far she was from La Luna.

They fell in love.

Aurora left before he woke each morning and Boreas learned to love the moment just before the night was over.

She didn’t mind his frosty fingertips or scratchy beard or the way he would lose his temper when the Tennessee Titans lost.

They had a January wedding.

Each night, she held his hand and they flew above the mountains.

When they danced, brilliant ribbons of green and red illuminated the sky.

Standard

Leave a Reply

