Random

The inevitable

I hate this time of year. I should officially announce a blogging hiatus the last three weeks of each semester, that way I don’t feel guilty about neglecting this sweet all-too-forgiving writing space.

This time of year is the worst. The beautiful natural world around me and the tease of freedom is just enough to motivate me creatively, to make me want to write constantly, to play music every day first thing when I wake up, to spend my weekends cooking great food, reading novels, taking pictures and long bike rides, and practicing my calligraphy. But I can’t, at least not yet. Soon my time with come, when graduate school applications and research papers and poems and stories are all in and out of my hands and time to make and do lovely things will once again be mine.

In reality, being a college student is incredible and I really love that I get to spend my time doing what I’m doing. End-of-the-semester burnout overshadows my love for this incredible life I get to lead sometimes, but I know I’ll miss all of this when it’s over. More on that later.

Standard

Leave a Reply

