Relevant

“When the skies come crashing on the world you had, just hold tight, in no time we can get it back”

These lovely men here (plus the drummer Darren King who was tucked in the corner to the right) make up Mutemath, and I had the privilege of  seeing them for the first time last night. My roommate and I drove two and a half hours to Waco for the show, and it was well worth the long drive and the crazy late night we had by the time we made it home. The show was at a coffee shop/music venue right on the campus of Baylor University. For you Dentonites reading, it was a very similar space to Art Six with a slightly bigger backyard with a small stage. We got to the venue an hour before the show started to find an already packed space. And while I enjoyed the funky, college town, house-turned-coffee-shop vibe, there were flaws. The stage was very low, and even from the porch where I was standing, I couldn’t see anything beyond the backs of the tall people in front of me for both opening bands and the first four or five songs Mutemath played. I realize it’s petty to complain about things like that, but I was actually kind of bummed to have gone all the way to Waco to see a show I wouldn’t actually be able to see. I stood on my toes as they made their entrance, in true Mutemath style, drumming through the crowd and up to the stage. The concert gods smiled upon me and eventually the people standing directly in front of me left and I had a decent view of the band for most of the show. They played a full two hour set that really found its stride (in my opinion) when the band played “Noticed” and we got to see a beautiful on-stage proposal. Maybe I’m just a sap, but it was great, and after that the show really took off. Okay, I guess it might have been because they saved all of my favorites and their crazy stunts for the second half of the show. I can honestly say I’ve never seen a musician crowd surf on a giant inflatable mattress. In my photographs it looks like Paul Meany is landing a space ship. The show was even more incredible than I thought it would be. I’ll keep an eye out for a video of last night’s show to share with you guys. In the mean time, go watch videos of Darren King being insane(ly amazing), go listen to Mutemath, go to a show if you ever get a chance, and check out a few of the pictures I snapped from last night.

Standard

8 thoughts on ““When the skies come crashing on the world you had, just hold tight, in no time we can get it back”

  1. Awesome photos – I can’t really imagine Mutemath playing an Art Six show, even if it was slightly bigger, but it looks and sounds like it was still a good show.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      It was a little strange. Of course I’ve never seen them before so I don’t have anything to compare last night to, but I definitely felt like their sound was bigger than the space. And while this may come across as a strange thing to note since I’m not yet twenty-one, but the fact that it was a coffee shop and not a music venue in the typical sense or a bar meant no one was drunk or drinking at all. This may be just me, but I think alcohol plus (most) concerts is usually a good thing for everyone. It generally makes for a less careful crowd. I promise I’m not an alcoholic. I mean, there was a girl sitting in a chair directly behind me who had a laptop open and appeared to be doing homework through the sets of both opening bands and the first few Mutemath songs. That’s weird! But the fact that we were so packed together and they squashed so many people into such a small space compensated for how strange it felt otherwise. It managed to feel very different than seeing a show at Art Six, even though the venue felt very similar. It didn’t feel intimate at all, even though it was probably a much smaller crowd than they usually play in front of. I don’t know. Somehow it worked, I think.

      • I saw them at Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa which is pretty much Tulsa’s main venue so its pretty big, and the place was full. I’m pretty bad at estimating crowd sizes, but I’d say there were a strong 500+ people there, every one of which was completely into the show (and of course, alcohol was present). The lights and visual aids were absolutely amazing – they had a couple different projectors shooting up live video and crazy images and stuff. I can’t imagine anyone being on a laptop for any Mutemath songs, or imagine a show with no alcohol. It is an important substance. Mutemath (based on the one time I saw them) are there to give you a show, and they completely feed off of big crowds and big venues.

        You can kinda see some of the visual stuff here – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3B874pHxXA&feature=plcp
        and this video was also pretty interesting – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjdqcGtg7ok&feature=plcp

      • Jennifer Lioy says:

        Whoa, totally different. Super, super cool. There were crazy lights last night, but nothing like that. I think part of the problem with last night’s show was that it was in Waco, which is a good two hours from both Dallas, Denton, and Austin. And my impression of Waco is that all there is there is Baylor. I definitely felt like the crowd was into the music, but they definitely didn’t know every song, at least not the people around me. And I don’t think there could have been 250 people cramped into that space. And I guess I understood how important the performance aspect of the show would be from the videos I had watched before last night, and that was the main reason I was so bummed when I couldn’t see anything at the beginning of the show. Craziness. Of course I’d love to see them again, and I imagine it would be a totally different experience seeing them anywhere else than Waco. I’m glad you got my point about the alcohol. I really do think the bar drastically changes a show, and usually for the better, even when you’re under-agers like us.

      • I would definitely recommend trying to see them in a bigger venue with a bigger stage that has the capability to let them really put on a show, and definitely get a spot where you can see everything. Of course for me that spot is in the thick of it right up against the front of the stage, but that can get pretty intense sometimes and isn’t for everyone. As for the alcohol, I imagine the next time you get a chance to see them you’ll also be able to buy your own, but I’m not sure how much I’d want to drink at a show. I’ll probably try it a few times but concert highs are such a fantastic thing and I’m not sure how alcohol fits in with that.

  2. Jennifer Lioy says:

    For sure. Had I been alone last night, I might have tried to find a better spot. But with Hannah, it was a little harder. She kind of just came along for the ride, so I wasn’t about to try and weave through the crowd with her to be extremely uncomfortable for hours seeing a band whose music she didn’t know.

    I often come back to something when I talk about music, live music specifically, which is that it’s so damn hard for me to articulate anything about it. From the handful of your posts I’ve read, you seem to do a much better job talking about music than I do. But I still love sitting down to write about it, even though it’s so challenging and my writing is often saturated with clichés and things everyone already knows about seeing live music. But the closest I can get to really encompassing everything that is so incredible about live music it is to call it sacred, coming back to your own term as well. And I treat it as though it’s sacred time and a sacred space. So I’m not sure where alcohol will mix into that. As long as I can edit pictures and write a coherent blog post at the end of the night, right? We’ll see!

    Hey, thanks for indulging me, dude. I’m really excited to read your stuff and talk about music with you again.

    • Sometimes it feels like there’s something about music that’s difficult to articulate, and other times it feels like I know exactly what I want to say. I imagine its a hell of a lot harder with live music though, because – you’re right – its sacred. You only get to live it right there in the moment and its impossible to recreate how you feel at each individual show. Pictures and coherent blogs are about as close as we can get.

      Thanks for reading my blog – I’m still kind of figuring out how to write about music that is so important to me, but I’m enjoying the process. And I love talking about music and I’m glad I’ve got people that I can talk about it with.

Leave a Reply

