Read

Thought Catalog at Its Best (IMHO): Second Edition

It should come as no surprise to you that many months have passed since my last list of this kind and I’m still just as dedicated to my time spent nearly every day reading Thought Catalog as I was when I had too much free time during the summer. With the changing of seasons comes a new way of approaching this whole living and breathing thing, and these pieces feel very different from the last set. I feel it in my own writing, too: a definite shift. Seems like a good time, so once again I bring you:

12 of My Favorite Thought Catalog Articles From the Past 30 Days

1. If You Were Looking For God
“If you were looking for God, I would tell you that if it’s spring, you’re in luck. If it’s the dead of winter, you’ve got to keep your eyes peeled. I would tell you to wrap yourself in your loneliness like a thick scarf, to keep your distance and keep the curtains pulled shut.”

2. You Won’t Always be Stupid and Curious
“There are people who write rules — good for them. Let them follow their rules. The samaritans own the daylight, that’s never going to change. But the night is yours. No council can control your mind once the bars of the sun have been lifted.”

3. Old Friends And New Books: The Perks Of Being A Wallflower
I added this one to the list because I loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower every time I’ve read it, I was my weepiest self when I saw the movie last week, which was brilliant by the way, and because I have been known to slip little notes and poems into books before giving them away.

4. Renunciation
“Leaving, we will see ourselves in the distance, since we are standing outside ourselves now, since we can see ourselves more clearly now. We will see ourselves in the distance — like a sail suddenly popping up at sea, a sail suddenly popping up at the horizon-line, where blue meets blue.”

5. All Love Ends in Heartbreak
I’ll ruin the ending if I include my favorite lines from this one.

6. I Am Afraid of Everything
“More importantly, though, when does it stop? Is there a time in life when you just magically grow out of your scaredy cat-ness and decide that you are, in fact, going to go skiing because the chances of getting caught in an avalanche are minuscule compared to the chances of having a sweet-ass time and learning to ski?”

7. How Long Will It Hurt?
Just, yes.

8. 19 Reasons I Painted A Wall Blue
“It never roars, bites, kicks, snarls, or commands. It only drifts.”

9. Will to Live Forecast

10. Chasing Authenticity 
“I’m a phony. And there is nothing I can think of, off the top of my head right now, that I hate more than phonies — and that includes traveler’s diarrhea.”

11. The Funerals I’ve Survived
“Death is raw. It jumps from the darkest corners of your day-to-day life and bares its yellow teeth at you. Once you quit vomiting from the sight, it slinks away and waits for as long as it likes.”

12. We Met At the Worst Possible Time
“There’s a quote that says people come into our lives for a reason, season or lifetime and I always hope you’re sticking around for the latter. But if you are a reason, it must be to show me that I need to fix the breaks and embrace the wounds.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

