Relevant

“You look like the songs that I’ve heard my whole life comin’ true.”

Today, I almost passed up a Rocket Summer show. I know, I know, that’s just about the most out of character thing I’ve ever contemplated. After some investigation, I learned that not everyone has the perfect college schedule and many people actually have things like work and class on Fridays. Sounds like a horrible time, I know. The Adventure Club celebrated a birthday today by throwing a free show with Bryce and two other bands opening for Two Door Cinema Club at the House of Blues, and no one was available to go with me. This might make me sound like a loner/loser, but in general I do pretty well going places by myself. I imagine this is a maturity thing, feeling comfortable and confident going certain places alone, but I do have limits. I don’t mind eating by myself in a restaurant, but only if I have a book or something to keep me busy. I’ve never been to a movie by myself and before today, I had never been to a show by myself. I decided that missing a Rocket Summer show solely on the grounds of having to go alone would be ridiculous.

So I went, and I had a great time. I actually enjoy talking to people I don’t know and it makes it easy to weave your way to the front of a crowd when you’re just one person. I really don’t mean for this post to be in praise of being a loner, but I guess I’m trying to say there are certainly pros. Anyway, Bryce played a short set that he opened with this Mumford and Sons cover:

The majority of the crowd was there to see TDCC, so I was that overenthusiastic-fan-of-the-opener girl, who I’ve been many times in the past. But when I talked to Bryce after the show today, he told me he recognized me in the crowd from the last time I met him, and he thanked me for singing along. No shame. I’m basically living the dream.

Standard

2 thoughts on ““You look like the songs that I’ve heard my whole life comin’ true.”

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      I think life is way too short to be embarassed about (outwardly) enjoying good music, even if the majority of the crowd is apathetic towards an opening band. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

