Read

Thought Catalog at Its Best (IMHO)

One of the things that I love about  my job (that I don’t imagine I would love ten years from now) is that I spend about fifteen hours a week sitting in front of a computer with little to no responsibilities at all. Summers in college are really the only time you can reasonably have a job where you are paid to do nothing where you don’t feel guilty about it. I mean, sure, I should have an internship or a job that might actually win me some resume points, but I’m totally content spending my mornings at work and my afternoons playing ukulele and making cool art and loving sweet summertime while I can. So, a huge perk of my current lifestyle is that I have hours and hours to spend looking at cool stuff, listening to great music, watching TED talks, and, most importantly, reading Thought Catalog. So great.  In hopes of proposing a solution to number four from this lovely list, I bring you 

12 of My Favorite Thought Catalog Articles From the Past 30 Days

1.  A Checklist for Summertime
Stephanie Georgopulos has to be first on the list. I’m a shameless fan-girl and her writing is consistently my favorite on TC. And for the record, Sublime ALWAYS makes my summer mix-cds.

2. I Am Broke (Because I’m a Writer)  or A Parable
I couldn’t choose which of these two articles should be on the list, so I put both. Not sure why they’re in the same entry on this list, but that’s beside the point. Anyway, whenever I read Oliver Miller’s writing I often feel like my life could very well be headed in a similar direction and that most people’s, not just writers but artists and passionate people of all kinds, do,  but he’s the only one that’s actually honest about it. Just when you’re about to criticize him for being too self-involved or selfish or biased or wordy or offensive, he beats you to it and throws himself under the bus in a way that is not looking for attention or sympathy, but just to interact with the world in the most authentic way possible. Maybe I’m way off because I’m a fan. You should read his stuff regardless. And if you choose to read “A Parable,” you should scroll through the comments as well.

3. If I Knew Where I Was Going

If I knew where I was going, I’d stop reading maps like they hold some special secret. I’d realize that they guide people toward a destination and not just away from themselves and I’d stop blaming physical boundaries and distance for all of my problems. I’d accept that the reason I always feel stuck is because I’m too afraid to cross the rivers and mountains that I’ve built up between myself and the people around me, between my actions and my ambitions, my muscles and my mind.

I love when writing makes you reconsider everything. I don’t know what else to say about this one.

4. We are All Made of Stars
Sometimes I read things and I find a sentence or two that I’d like to hang on my wall so it would reach people beyond a computer screen, so that someone would read it when they sit on the floor next to my coffee table drinking tea with me while I talk about baking bread and calligraphy. This would be one of them: “We hold remnants of long lost stars in our veins. That’s not an answer, but it’s still magnificent and nothing can ever be both pointless and magnificent.”

5. What You Can Do Instead of Loving Someone You Can’t Be With
SG makes the list again (but you weren’t really surprised were you?). I wish she would write a novel or even just publish a collection of her essays, something I can hold in my hands and underline and scribble little notes in the margins of so that I could remember where I was and who I was when I first read her writing, so that I could remember who I was thinking about that made it more significant than it is all on its own, so that I can come back and revisit her, so that I can come back and revisit me.

6. The Stories We Tell Ourselves

We tell ourselves stories to control the uncontrollable, to make sense of static, to organize decades and miles and bats of lashes into narratives that make sense but at the end of the day — at the end of the story — all that matters is that everything is okay.

7. 15 ‘Yeah, Me Neither’ Statements
Thought Catalog doesn’t always post funny articles; but when they do, they’re gold.

8. 10 Rules for Concertgoers
Although sometimes I’m the annoying camera girl (I promise I do my best not to be obnoxious about it and I usually have my large and in charge DSLR with me, so I seem a bit more legit), all of these are rules I hold truer than the ten commandments. In fact, let go, dance, and stop giving a damn are rules I think I’ll apply to all areas of my life.

9. Questions I Have For People in Relationships
I should have made this a list of SG articles that by appearing in this list make me look like a patheticlonelyloser. I guess I’m okay with that.

10. Thank You For Being There
I wish I could repeat this everyday for the rest of my life, just to be sure you know.

11. You Are a Short Story, He Was a Novel
Extended metaphors? Yes, please. I love when Thought Catalogers write articles like this (when they’re good, of course). I just think they’re super creative. The best of the best  is of course SG’s “You Are The Sun” which remains my favorite of favorite things.

12.  Existentially-Fraught Takes On Classic Picture Books To Teach Your Kids The Meaninglessness Of Life Before The Internet Does

Okay, if you are crazy/not at all sentimental and don’t want to read some of the loveliest things in existence, you should just read this one and laugh a lot.

Adapted from Shel Silverstein’s classic, The Giving TreeThe Non-Anthropomorphic Tree Devoid of Inherent Symbolism tells the tale of a tree that can’t talk, feel, or symbolize anything (because it’s a tree), and a teenage boy who regularly smokes marijuana under it.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Thought Catalog at Its Best (IMHO)

  1. “so that someone would read it when they sit on the floor next to my coffee table drinking tea with me while I talk about baking bread and calligraphy.”

    The thought of my words reaching people like that just me grin big time.

  2. Pingback: Thought Catalog at Its Best (IMHO): Second Edition | Sincerely, Jennifer

Leave a Reply

