Ridiculous

I know I could be more clever

In the Words of Better Writers: A List of Things You Should Never Forget/On Thinking and Writing and Being

1. “And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”
Sylvia Plath

2. And I know I could be more clever
And I know I could more strong
And I know I could be more clever
And I know I could be more clever
I knew there’d come a day
When all was said and done
Everything I was
Is everything but gone
But all my big mistakes
are bouncing off your wall
The bottles never break
The sun will never come
So come on let me in
I will be the sun
I will wake you up
I am who I was
Just open up your heart
Open up your heart
Open up your heart

Fun. “Out on the Town”

3. “I think and think and think. I’ve thought myself out of happiness one million times but never once into it.”
Jonathan Safran Foer

4.  I dont know how more people haven’t got mental health problems.Thinking is one of the most stressful things i’ve ever come across. And not being able to articulate what i want to say drives me crazy. I think i should try and read more books, learn some new words.

Kate Nash “Don’t You Want to Share the Guilt

5.  I would rather be ashes than dust!
I would rather that my spark should burn out
in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot.
I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom
of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet.
The function of man is to live, not to exist.
I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them.
I shall use my time.

Jack London’s “Credo”

6. Jesus got up one day a little later than usual. He had been dreaming so deep there was nothing left in his head. What was it? A nightmare, dead bodies walking all around him, eyes rolled back, skin falling off. But he wasn’t afraid of that. It was a beautiful day. How ’bout some coffee? Don’t mind if I do. Take a little ride on my donkey, I love that donkey. Hell, I love everybody.

James Tate’s “Goodtime Jesus”

Standard

Leave a Reply

