Relevant

Oh, to see it with my own eyes

I’ve been sitting around for a few days anticipating this post (but I missed realizing this last night at two in the morning when I was posting it). But, I feel that this is an occasion worthy of noting as this is, officially

My 700th Blog Post! 

I know.
What? 700? Really? That’s a little overkill, don’t you think? There’s no way I’ve written 700 posts.
Welp. I guess I have. Who knew?
Anyway, thanks for sticking with me and indulging me here, friends. You’re all stellar pieces in my messy little world, you know. And for that, I can’t thank you enough.

 

This blog post is brought to you by: My 10:30 pm cup of coffee

It is now nearing two in the morning. And although it is finals week here and everywhere else, I imagine, and college students are sitting at tables with open textbooks under bad fluorescent lights, I am not awake flipping through flash cards or trying to hammer out a last-minute paper. My paper is finished, my notecards are written and I don’t have an exam until Wednesday. Thus, my motivation to work is nonexistent at this moment. And while I have work very early in the morning, I am not asleep. Thanks for nothing, coffee. If only you were this effective on crappy Monday mornings and days after late-night English paper writing. Around 12:30 I opted to go for a short bike ride though to burn some energy. It didn’t work, but it was stellar nonetheless. A perfect chilliness greeted my bicycle and I as I stepped out of my apartment. I put my headphones in my ears and did my best to lower the volume of the constant talk-radio commentary in my head to listen to some stellar Local Natives harmonies. I rode past familiar streets and houses and sidewalks usually filled with unfamiliar faces and busy noises. But late at night, the quiet is welcoming as I forget about stop signs and impatient cars trailing behind as I ride because there are none, and there’s no need to stop moving forward for no one else is around.

20111213-015621.jpg

Standard

3 thoughts on “Oh, to see it with my own eyes

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      That’s so sweet, Julia. I’m pretty proud of myself for keeping up with this thing for so long, too. It’s been a challenge, for sure. So nice to know you care about me and stuff.

      That was my response to the comment you didn’t write but that I pretended you did instead of the one above.

Leave a Reply

