Relevant, Rhyme

Of Wishing and Poetry

I wish you and I were poets,
So that when I say
You’re a powerful soul,
You’d know what I mean
And I’d know what I mean.

Maybe it’s the way you make me
weakest
and strongest,
Or the way you both
cause
and cure
My loneliness in a shared instant.

And who knows about loneliness better than poets?
Scribbling in notebooks under dimmed lamps of dim rooms,
Of things that will never be.
Writing words that mouths will never
have the courage to speak.

When I write of loneliness,
I mean the simple absence of someone
To sit next to me at poetry readings.
No one to share the magical resonance
Of words carefully strung,
Words,
Naturally pieced together
As if they existed without meaning
Before they met one another.

When I write of loneliness,
I mean the pathetic way I constantly wish
you and I were poets.
But I keep wishing you and I were poets anyway,
Because maybe then you’d look to the moon and see my eyes
The same way I tilt my eyes to the night sky
And see your smile.

I wish you and I were poets
Because maybe then I’d be your ambiguous pronouns,
And you’d be my not-so-cryptic “you.”
I’d doodle about birds and how
They fly so high,
But only because you sing along.

If you and I were poets,
You’d read this and hear my voice.
Not the voice that appears in red ink on english papers,
But my own,
The one that’s shaky and delicate,
Silently shouting “I love you”
Beneath words like,
“I’m scared, okay?”

I wish you and I were poets,
Because maybe then you’d think of me in
Eloquent metaphors.
And even if your metaphors are cliché
and clumsy like my own,
At least you’d be
thinking of me.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Of Wishing and Poetry

Leave a Reply

