Random

Antlers up.

This is going to be an awkward post…
You’ve been warned.

So, I don’t know much about dreams and basically all I know about them I’ve learned from a book about dream interpretation Victoria checked out from the library years and years ago that told me lots of things about my life that were super obvious already. It’s actually extremely rare that I wake up and remember my dream and I love when I do because it’s so rare. I’ve always been jealous of people who consistently remember their dreams when the wake up. Or who can wake up from a dream and have the basic premise for a super successful novel. Not fair, Mary Shelley. So, I’m no expert, but what I do know about them is that there is no way to tell someone you had a dream about them and it be a reasonably normal conversation. Either they’ll think you’re a major creep or, clearly, you’re in love with them. The scenario typically goes something like this:
“Hey, so I had the craziest dream about you last night
Wow, creep.”
And then you stop telling the story.
Or, “So, funny story, last night I had this dream and we
Wait, you had a dream about me?”
“Yeah, we were driving to….”
And then the other person tunes out everything you say because they’re thinking about how you had a dream about them, as if you could control what or who you dream about, and what that means and how they feel about it and they tune out the rest of the story where you tell them that in the dream you got in a horrible car accident when a giant baby unicorn threw your car off a cliff and you plummeted to your death into a pit of Little Debbie snacks.

So, yeah. All that to say, I had a dream about you last night. It was kind of the best. Go ahead, assume all you want.
Alright, I guess you’d be right to assume this time…

In other news, I’m knitting and the Rangers are ahead 3-2 games in the World Series.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Antlers up.

  1. Julia Moen says:

    This is not real life. It’s actually perfectly legitimate to tell people that they’re in your dreams. Right? I think I’m right.

    Also, congrats on the win Ranger’s fan!

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      Oh, sorry Julia. I didn’t realize a disclaimer telling you that this is only the case in pretend magical land, and in the real world, it’s perfectly okay was necessary. Oh wait, nope. It’s probably perfectly acceptable for you though, because it’s not like you need any help convincing people you’re a creep.

      • Julia Moen says:

        Okay, wait. Here’s the problem. You don’t say I had a dream about you, you say you were in my dream. Then it’s not weird. Right? I think I’m right.

      • Jennifer Lioy says:

        Well, yeah. Someone making an appearance in your dream is totally different than you having a dream about them. But if they’re a main character in the dream, I think it’s safe to say the dream was about them, no? In which case, my statement still stands. Mostly, I was trying to find a creative/cryptic/not-really-cryptic way to make a point we’re not even talking about…haha

      • Julia Moen says:

        Well, yeah. If you had a dream that revolved around a person, then it was about them, but it is still more socially acceptable to tell them that they were in your dream. Unless, of course, you are trying to be not actually cryptic while trying to pretend to be cryptic, which I hear happens, sometimes. 😛

Leave a Reply

