Ridiculous

Cloudy morning in Denton

20111008-122004.jpg

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Cloudy morning in Denton

  1. Julia Moen says:

    Honor your soul…I like that. Can we please have a philosophical discussion about what that entails? That may sound sarcastic, but I am dead serious. I don’t really know what it means. I guess it’s kind of like “be true to yourself” but I think that’s annoying and honor your soul sounds more intense and bamftastic, honestly. I think it gets to a spiritual plane (well…obviously, because of the soul bit…) but deeper spiritually somehow. Like, as though your soul already has worth (given by some being/bigger spirit) that you have to respect. Do you like how I just put a ton of value into a stupid tea thing? Okay. Your turn.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      Well, I’m pretty confident in saying that I don’t really know exactly what I think about all this, but I’ll try and see if I can come up with any kind of conclusion. This might come across less of what I actually believe and more of what I spent the last two weeks writing an english paper about. Whoop! College! Anyways…so, the concept of the soul is one that many people discuss in terms of something that exists after our human life ends. It pertains only to the afterlife, heaven/hell, reincarnation, etc. But for me, I’d say we can talk about the idea of a soul independent of what happens when we die. I think the soul could very well be what sets us apart from the billions of human beings that surround us. The soul could very well be something that forms from every experience/emotion/sensory data that we encounter as people who live and think and feel and do or a predestined plan that God formed when he created man. Heck if I know. But, I think this idea of honoring your soul is similar to what you’re saying about being true to yourself, but more about being true to who you truly (redundant much?) are, in a not-yet-fully-understood way. Ancient philosophers (you know, those reaaally old dead guys. I mean, really? At what point do you cross that line from old to ancient? Congratulations, you are SUPER old) and contemporary philosophers alike discuss turning away from desires of the body (example:I want poptarts, that girl is supa fine, everything classified as White People Problems) and turning inward to discover soul which pertains to wisdom, goodness, understanding, etc. all basically aiming towards THE GOOD LIFE (whatever that actually means). So, in the most long-winded response ever, I think honoring your soul is about considering the things which are most essential to who you are, which we haven’t fully discovered yet, and recognizing the goodness there.

  2. Julia Moen says:

    I appreciate this response. Are you saying that in some philosophies, the soul doesn’t matter for the mortal life, only the afterlife? I like what you’re saying about who you truly are. Too legit to quit.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      Uh, kind of. I think it’s more like the soul is what of us exists in the afterlife. So it’s not so much about whether we have a soul when we’re alive or not. I don’t know. Pretty sure this distinction or lack of distinction is a product of language more than anything, and like most things, is difficult only because of language and deciding to name the same abstract ideas that no one actually KNOWS anything about different things. Bluh.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      These are the kinds of things I spend a great deal of time reading, thinking, and writing papers about. Thanks for indulging me.
      I really love and miss you so much.

Leave a Reply

