Random

Day 365.

Happy 365th Day of Posting!

Here we are: 365 Consecutive days! I can hardly believe we made it. I say we because you all were an essential part of this. I wish I was home to thank you and give you a hug for sticking with me through this year, for being a part of my life, for being a part of my everyday, for allowing me to write about you (whether you knew I was or not!), for supporting me, for reminding me to post when I almost forgot, for believing in me, and most importantly, for making me feel like my writing and my life is valuable. That’s better than any gift I’ve ever received.

Thank you.

This process has been a complicated one, often frustrating and annoying; but more often  it has been wonderful, eye-opening, and amazing. I started this blog a year ago today wanting to document the summer before starting my freshman year of college. I thought that it was the perfect time and I would see how long I could keep up a daily blog for the summer. When the summer came to an end, I decided to keep going. I passed the three month mark, then the six, and here we are. One year of blogging. 365 days! I’d like to use this post to reflect on my year and on what it has been like and recap some of my favorite posts.

Things I learned from 365 consecutive days of blogging.

1. Contrary to popular belief, I don’t always have something to say. 

As many of you know, I didn’t always enjoy blogging everyday. And as school started and I found myself spending more and more nights writing endless english papers, I learned that it was highly unrealistic for me to expect quality writing every night. And there were many times when I felt like I was letting myself down, nights when I didn’t have much to say. I didn’t write every night; I posted though. I required myself to have the time to have the opportunity to write. What I did with that opportunity every night wasn’t always the same, but I learned that I often had more to say that I thought.

2. I need an outlet. 

I learned that I need a way to process and to feel other than inside my head. Many of you were with me through some of the most defining moments this past year and of my life, whether you were aware of it or not. And while I did my best to be brave, I was cryptic at times. You often saw through it (and didn’t get frustrated with me. Thank you. Really). My blog became a place for me to communicate when things were difficult, a place for me to feel safe, to process and feel, to be honest, and to learn about myself and about the wonderful people who care about me (that’s you!).

3. Whenever you allow yourself to be vulnerable in front of someone, they will often do the same.

Many of my posts were difficult to write, but I did my best to be honest. Many times, my blog opened up the conversation to talk about things that we normally don’t like to talk about. It allowed me to have a place where I felt safe enough to do so and I’ve learned so much about the way people work and think and feel because of it. Thank you for responding to my writing, for taking me seriously, and for recognizing the honest feelings I wasn’t always brave enough to write. Thank you for caring enough to have those conversations with me, for teaching me to ask questions, for teaching me that life and people are complicated. Thank you for showing me how spectacular that is.

I write in order to know who I am, who I’ve been, and how that girl was and is a significant part of this human family and all of its wonderful complexity.

And this is most definitely not the end of this blog. I need him too much to abandon him now. Not to worry. I do feel like I’m saying goodbye though.
Unnecessary sentimentality: check.

I think it’s appropriate to end my final post of my year of blogging with a piece of wonderfulness that I imagine will be extremely familiar to all of you by now.

“One can only see with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.” The Little Prince. 

Thank you all for teaching me to see what is essential.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Day 365.

  1. Congratulations! I’m so stinkin’ proud of you! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and life with us, it means a lot to me (and to all of us readers, I would guess). It think it is so very important to be introspective about our lives and I appreciate you bringing things up that allow me to do that. Even if I don’t always respond, you make me think very often and that is super important. I love you so very much!

    P.s. The first time I wrote introspective just now, I spelled it introflective and it took me a long time to figure out how it was actually spelled. Haha.

  2. Pingback: The Evolution of an Ever-Evolving Young Writer | Sincerely, Jennifer

Leave a Reply

