Reflection

Thankful Thursday: You’re already home where you feel love

Today, I am thankful for…

1. My new favorite hiding place

We have an old library that very few people use. It holds a strange collection of books and I happened to wander in there a few days ago to find a book for a paper I’m writing. After getting lost for twenty minutes, I did my best to find my way out of the yellow-bookcase maze to ask the circulation desk where the book was. She handed me a map with very specific instructions of how to get to the section where the book was. I found the book and my new favorite paper-writing place. It has its charm despite the claustrophobic feeling it induces and the crazy hum of the lights. It’s perfect. Something about the feeling that no one would ever be able to find me there; the ultimate hide and seek place when the world always seems to be wanting to find you and you don’t want to be found.

2. The Epitome of Weather Perfection

For some, the perfect temperature would be closer to seventy or eighty, but my vote is fifty-eight. A pair of jeans and a cardigan, and you’re set. Excellent, excellent, excellent. I live for evenings in spring, sleeping with my window open, and slightly chilly early morning bike rides to work.

3. An Old Friend

Returning to a piece of writing after some time away from it is like seeing an old friend. You get reacquainted. You assess how things have changed since you last saw each other. You get to know them again. You ask them questions and you look at them different as you’ve changed and things have changed. And you find comfort in the realization that you still have things in common despite all of that change.

(All of this is to say I finally tackled dealing with my writing critiques and did some significant revisions on my piece for my nonfiction class. Whoop. Productive evening in my favorite library.)

4. Having a Ukulele to Play at the End of the Day

Eugene’s a sweetie, what can I say? He’s a considerate fellow.
And yes, I did pick his name finally. It’s like Eugene was always meant to be. I couldn’t devastate him like that. I don’t support ukulele identity crisis.
P.E.T.U. (People for the Ethical Treatment of Ukuleles)

5. This Song.

Put your dreams away for now
I won’t see you for some time
I am lost in my mind
I get lost in my mind

Momma once told me
You’re already home where you feel love
I am lost in my mind
I get lost in my mind

Oh my brother
Your wisdom is all that I need
Oh my brother
Don’t you worry ’bout me
Don’t you worry

How’s that bricklayin’ coming
How’s your engine running
Is that bridge getting built
Are your hands getting filled

Won’t you tell me my brother
Cause there are stars up above
We can start moving forward

Lost in my mind
Lost in my mind
Oh I get lost in my mind

Standard

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: You’re already home where you feel love

  1. Julia Moen says:

    This is a great post…I just have a few comments

    1. A paper-writing place that is not a coffee shop?!?! CRAZY.
    2. Come to Minnesota! You’d love the weather! 😀
    3. I’m happy for and proud of you!
    4. I get to sing ukelele songs with you this weekend!!!!!!!

    I. Love. Your. Face. (ps I got your phone call just now and I’m going to bed. I’ll talk to you AND HOPEFULLY SEE YOU tomorrow!!!)

Leave a Reply

