Ridiculous

Thankful Thursday

Today, I’m thankful to finally have a copy of Joan Didion’s A Year of Magical Thinking.
My nonfiction writing prof has been raving about it all semester. And thirty pages in, I think I understand why. I’ve assigned reading it to myself so that I feel justified in putting aside all my papers due next week to do so. It’s quite spectacular.

“We are not idealized wild things. We are imperfect mortal beings, aware of that mortality even as we push it away, failed by our very complication, so wired that when we mourn our losses we also mourn, for better or for worse, ourselves. As we were. As we are no longer. As we will one day not be at all.”
— Joan Didion

I know that seems like a silly thing to dedicate this post to.
The power of great writing, that’s what I’m thankful for.
Oh, and this ridiculousness:

(I haven’t seen Shock Treatment, by the way. I’ve only seen this song. It almost looks crazier than Rocky Horror…)

“Denton is a real okay town.” 😉

Standard

One thought on “Thankful Thursday

Leave a Reply

