Reflection

As Promised.

“The heart is capable of sacrifice. So is the vagina . . .It can ache for us and stretch for us, die for us and bleed and bleed us into this difficult, wonderful world”
-Eve Ensler, “The Vagina Monologues”

Aside from the slightly uncomfortable picture this paints for some of you, it was definitely my favorite line from the Vagina Monologues and just so happens to be a snippet of the very monologue Miss Julia Moen gave at her Vagina Monologues performance way up north in (must be read with accent)Minnesota. She’s definitely the person to ask if you’d like to know more about them as she is a Vagina Warrior herself (hopefully that’s a generally accepted title and not something they just call the people involved with the monologues here…).

But, in short, as she explained to someone earlier this week:

The Vagina Monologues is a play by Eve Ensler that shares women’s stories in an effort to bring awareness to sexual abuse in America and around the world. Aka: Awesome.

They are, indeed, awesome and quite hilarious as well. There were some moments where I felt slightly uncomfortable and then felt bad that I felt the way I did (felt, felt, felt…felt. Geez!). I wanted to grasp on to that feminine notion about freely expressing and appreciating our sexuality as women, but it was a bit too much for me. Maybe I’m a prude, but the provocativeness, it just wasn’t for me. What I very much appreciated, though, was the overall message about women and celebrating women. They place value in confidence. They place value in womanhood. They share the sentiment that a woman’s body is her own, valued by herself, not for the benefit of anyone but herself, not to be abused or taken advantage of, and revered and honored if anything. At the end of the show they had a rose ceremony where they explained that each of the women involved in the production was wearing a rose. The women wearing a black rose were women who suffered abuse themselves at some point in their lives. Those women stepped forward and they invited anyone in the crowd who survived abuse to stand with them. Then they explained that the women wearing red roses were women who knew someone who had suffered abuse. They stepped forward, the entire remaining cast members, and once again invited us to stand if we fell into that category as well. It was heartbreakingly beautiful to see this auditorium filled with brave women. It was very, very cool.

So as today, well, yesterday now, Valentine’s Day, is the perfect opportunity to remind your dear one that you love them, I’d like to suggest an alternative or addition. While I can’t deny the fact that sometimes (frequently!) I’m that hopelessly emotional girl who watches romantic comedies and listens to Greg Laswell and Ingrid Michaelson’s sweet love songs after love songs, wishing that sweet young man was thinking of me, I like to regard myself as a strong, independent young woman. And as a (sometimes) strong, independent (an alternative to “single”) young woman, I’d like to say that I’m thankful for the strong, independent (single and otherwise) women in my life, who inspire the very same confidence, bravery, compassion, and love that being a woman is all about. You all teach me to be a better person.

 

Do you need anybody,
I just need somebody to love,
Could it be anybody,
I want somebody to love.
I get by with a little help from my friends,
Yes I get by with a little help from my friends,
With a little help from my friends.

Standard

One thought on “As Promised.

Leave a Reply

