Reflection

“One day,” you said to me, “I saw the sunset forty-four times!”

I was driving home when I passed my (used to be) favorite spot in the whole world, my sweet little duckpond down the road from my house. I remember feeding the ducks when I was younger, getting chased by the ducks, and deciding to never feed ducks ever again at that very spot. The duckpond sat on the edge of a rarely-used golf course with sidewalk trails throughout. It was my typical bike ride, my perfect outdoor sketching hideaway, and place to clear my head for many, many years. The best part is the way the sun sets perfectly over the pond, the only place where buildings, houses, and highways didn’t block your view. It was that way until recently, that is. My absolute favorite sunset watching/capturing spot is now impeded by an annoying and unnecessary football stadium and athletic complex (thanks a heap, UNT). And of course, as is typical the night before a wintry storm, the sky was magnificent. The colors and the clouds, incredible. I was determined to find a new place. I knew my camera (and editing) wouldn’t be able to do this sunset justice, but I quickly drove around the curve, up the hill, down the hill, ran into my house with the car still running to grab my camera and hop back in, hoping to catch the too quickly setting sun. I drove and drove looking for the spot and couldn’t find anything. I remembered the part of The Little Prince, as I continued to speed through somewhere I had never been before hoping to find a hill or a large open grassy area, where he’s telling of his planet and how he can watch the sun set over and over again because it’s so small and I wished I was there, on his planet because I just couldn’t catch the sun this time. I imagined that illustration of the Little Prince with his flower and shovel and he’s sitting in what looks like a lawn chair watching the sun set over and over again. I wished I had an airplane, a small, little rickety old plane that I’d fly out of my backyard to chase the setting sun and capture the dwindling light I knew I wasn’t going to catch up to in time. I expectedly didn’t make it, but I did find a new spot. It’s not the same, but I think it just might do.

 

But on your tiny planet, my little prince, all you need to do is move your chair a few steps. You can see the day end and the twilight falling whenever you like…
“One day,” you said to me, “I saw the sunset forty-four times!”
And a little later you added:
“You know–one loves the sunset, when one is so sad…”
“Were you so sad, then?” I asked, “on the day of the forty-four sunsets?”
But the little prince made no reply.

Standard

Leave a Reply

