Recycled, Reflection

Are you listening?

I just finished watching Eat Pray Love which very much had the potential to be something expected and overdone. The self-empowerment, love-seeking, sweet story about love and self-discovery, which it very much was; but it was something very, very beautiful as well. I usually don’t share my movie-watching experiences here, but I want to this time so I can leave you all with a meaningful sentiment that concludes the movie:

“…I’ve come to believe that there exists in the universe something I call “The Physics of The Quest” – a force of nature governed by laws as real as the laws gravity or momentum. And the rule of Quest Physics maybe goes like this: ‘If you are brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting (which can be anything from your house to your bitter old resentments) and set out on a truth-seeking journey (either externally or internally), and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared – most of all – to face (and forgive) some very difficult realities about yourself….then truth will not be withheld from you.’ Or so I’ve come to believe.”

And a video with thoughts on creativity from the author of the novel Eat Pray Love is what I’ll conclude this post with:

Julia, catch the Dobby reference? Silliness.

This is the fourth time I’ve edited this post but none of you are up with me to see words appearing that didn’t exist before. As I’ve been listening to her speech I’ve had this overwhelming thought resonating through me that repeats “Jennifer, are you listening?” It’s this feeling that where I am in my life with the questions, and feelings, and mistakes, and indecisiveness, and doubt, is the time where the most discovery takes place. Everything and everyone around me has the potential to teach, to leave an impression, and to change my life. There’s so much to know. There’s so much to experience. There’s so much to feel. Where knowledge floods through every moment of every day, and I’m here to pick and choose and discover truth for myself as it comes and as it fits for me. It takes questioning, and feeling, and mistakes, and indecisiveness, and doubt, and here I am, fearful, absent of truth and discovery. But alas, Jennifer, are you listening?

Standard

One thought on “Are you listening?

  1. Julia Moen says:

    That was a very interesting speech. I liked it a lot. Did you read Eat, Pray, Love? Because if you did not, I can assure you that it is like 92849328479238 times better than the movie, and, since you liked the movie, that is something you should be excited about :]

    P.S. It is -6 degrees, with an -18 degree windchill. I haven’t ventured outside yet.

Leave a Reply

