Ridiculous

Useless

I was going to write a new year post, but I’m opting to wait. Maybe I’ll just write it Friday night. We shall see. I’ve found a good way to write one that will take me, oh…around five minutes so I imagine it might actually get done this year. Whoop. I was ordering a book online earlier today and I realized that a genre has popped up in the last five or so years. I’m not exactly sure how to classify them besides something along the lines of “Collective Non-Fiction.” From the reflection-prompting Post Secret books, to the silliness of Found and Regretsy, I’m not sure how their popularity came about, but I like it. (With accent) It’s for fun! There are, however, a few that are unnecessary at best. The most obvious common thread between them: unreasonably lengthy titles and cheesy covers. But really, I don’t make this up. Awful. Awful. And to those, I wish to dedicate this post.

Low and behold, brilliance.
5 Modern (Anything but) Masterpieces of 2010

1. Wanted – Bear Cubs for My Children: One Hundred of the Weirdest Posts Ever Seen on Craigslist (and Their Responses)


2. Church Signs Across America


3. I Lick My Cheese: And Other Real Notes from the Roommate Frontlines


4. Milk Eggs Vodka: Grocery Lists Lost and Found


5. Pets Who Want to Kill Themselves: Featuring Over 150 Suicidal Pets!


 

Honorable Mention: The Book of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks: A Celebration of Creative Punctuation



Standard

2 thoughts on “Useless

  1. stphn plc says:

    all of these sound like a complete waste of time. well done, jennifer! great finds. hope you didn’t actually read all of those. . .

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      Thanks, bro I haven’t actually read any of them. I’ve flipped through a few and they sure are special. My favorite might be the unnecessary quotation marks. I haven’t actually seen that one anywhere though. The preview on Amazon was enough for it to make the list.

Leave a Reply

