Reflection

It’s a beautiful thing when you love somebody. Yeah, I love somebody. Oh, I love somebody.

All of this is to say ‘I love you.’ All I want is to tell you that I love you. I have for a very long time and I think I just might love you for a long time to come, if that’s okay. If I have that option, I’d really like that. I value your friendship, I value your existence, and I love you. I want to tell you I love you because if I die tomorrow or if you die tomorrow, I’d want you to know that I loved you and  have all along. That happens, you know? People die. And if I die tomorrow or if you die tomorrow, I’d hate to think I never got to tell you that I love you. That would be tragic. And it’s a tragic way to live, anticipating death, but missing the opportunity to share love is much more tragic, I believe.
If I know nothing else, if I can’t believe anything else, if I search and search and find that I have no meaning other than love, I think I’d be okay with that. It is indeed a beautiful thing when you love somebody.

Of all the things Lily has taught me, the preciousness of life is just too overwhelming to ignore.

So come on with me, sing along with me,
Let the wind catch your feet.
If you love somebody,

you’d better let them know.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

