Reflection

There’s No Place Like Home

What have you learned, Dorothy?
Well, I – I think that it – it wasn’t enough to just want to see Uncle Henry and Auntie Em – and it’s that – if I ever go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own back yard. Because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with! Is that right?

I’m home in my own wonderful little sanctuary for the night, the first night since I moved out. And even when everything feels like a whirlwind of change and new-ness, some things remain constant even if they’re not the same. It’s the same room in the same place with the same things with the same walls that hold my memories, and somehow it’s completely different. And that different-ness, it’s feeling more and more okay each day. It’s still here. It’s still my home. It’s still safe.

Standard

Leave a Reply

