Reflection

Hot Coffee.

I’m happy to report that today was exponentially better then my unnecessarily stressful day yesterday. My classes seem rad. I’m pretty pumped. In my honors comp class, the professor talked about writing daily and how it’s the very best way to better yourself simply as a communicator, not even just as a writer. It was very cool. It was one of those “I’m actually a step ahead of you” moments that I appreciated. I added five new post-its to my wall this evening, if that means anything to you. If you don’t know what that means, I might explain sometime, maybe when I post pictures of the dorm room, which I’ll probably do tomorrow. My prints arrived today, are framed, and hanging. I’m quite pleased. I’m overwhelmingly blessed that this feeling of being overwhelmingly blessed has returned. As I’m writing these very words, an all too appropriate John Mayer song is playing in my little space singing, “I’m in repair, I’m not together but I’m getting there” which is basically the exact thing I was trying to put to words. Everyday, I feel a little bit more like the version of myself that I’d spent quite some time trying to find, to lose all too quickly. It’s not supposed to be easy. We’re supposed to get a little lost along the way. I mean, what journey is complete without a bit of uncertainty, rest-stops, referencing maps, and asking for help. Similarly, this journey is that way where sometimes I’m very unsure and anxious, I have to stop and breath, be reminded of where I’m heading and what roads will take me there, and is lined by a group of beautifully selfless friends who jump at the chance to help. Alive, today I’m alive. Today, that’s enough.

“Right now, you and me here, put together entirely from atoms, sitting on this round rock with a core of liquid iron held down by this force of this trouble you call gravity, all the while spinning around the sun at 67 thousand miles an hour and whizzing through the Milky Way at 600 thousand miles an hour.. in a universe that very well may be chasing its own tail at the speed of light.. and amidst all this frantic activity, fully cognizant of our own imminent demise-which is a very pretty way of saying we all know we’re going to die-we reach out, to one another, sometimes for the sake of vanity, sometimes for reasons you’re not old enough to understand yet, ..but a lot of the time we just reach out .. and expect nothing in return. Isn’t that strange? Isn’t that weird? .. Isn’t that weird enough?”

Standard

Leave a Reply

