Random

Day Seventy-I don’t remember

Instead of posting tonight, I’m choosing to shut my computer off, go lay in the grass, and watch for the beautiful meteor shower that just so happens to be at its peak this very evening, for the next few hours. A few years ago, I was in Florida this time of the year and just so happened to be laying on the beach, star gazing with my beautiful friend Hannah, and we happened to witness one of the most beautiful natural phenomena. Right now, she just happens to be sound asleep next to me, so I think I’ll let her sit this one out. But, if you’re up and reading this and up for a lovely time, I suggest you join me to do a bit of star-gazing. I might write later. We shall see.

And a little about the Perseids.

The Perseid meteor shower is named after the constellation Perseus, which is located in roughly the same point of the night sky where the Perseid meteor shower appears to originate from. This is a useful naming convention, but not very accurate!
The source of the Perseid meteor shower is actually debris from the comet Swift-Tuttle. Every year, the earth passes through the debris cloud left by the comet when the earth’s atmosphere is bombarded by what is popularly known as “falling stars.”

Standard

One thought on “Day Seventy-I don’t remember

Leave a Reply

