Random

Day Thirty-Two

I apologize if my posts have been very musically/song lyric oriented lately. It just happens that way sometimes. I apologize for annoying disclaimers like this one. I apologize for incessantly apologizing. Oy vey, bros.

I’ve been trying to think of a creative way to approach this post avoiding overused phrases such as, “Have you ever felt…” “Do you ever have those days…” or “Today was one of those days…” Fail. So, bear with me as I fumble for words I, once again, can’t seem to find.

My love for Ingrid Michaelson continues to grow each day. Her lyrics seem to fit more often than not.

Today, and occasionally, I feel quite fragile. Where the things that happen in my day, the words spoken, the arguments had, are like people who continually pick me up and proceed to drop me. Sometimes the event is minor, where I fumble as the drop isn’t far. Each time, a little piece chips away and that scary vulnerability becomes more and more exposed.

I’m done with this post. Ugh.

Breakable by Ingrid Michaelson

Have you ever thought about what protects our hearts?
Just a cage of rib bones and other various parts
So it’s fairly simple to cut right through the mess,
And to stop the muscle that makes us confess

And we are so fragile,
And our cracking bones make noise,
And we are just,
Breakable, breakable, breakable girls and boys

And you fasten my seat belt because it is the law
In your two ton death trap I finally saw
A piece of love in your face that bathed me in regret
Then you drove me to places I’ll never forget

And we are so fragile,
And our cracking bones make noise,
And we are just,
Breakable, breakable, breakable girls and boys

And we are so fragile,
And our cracking bones make noise,
And we are just,
Breakable, breakable, breakable girls-
Breakable, breakable, breakable girls-
Breakable, breakable, breakable girls and boys

Standard

One thought on “Day Thirty-Two

Leave a Reply

