Received

Pointless Post (unless your name is Patrick Burke)

I could have just facebooked this to you but I opted not to, and by opted not to, I mean facebook became angry with me and wouldn’t let me. So, I’m communicating with you via my blog. Annoying to everyone else, I’m sure. So, I had never heard of that Mumford band until you made me that CD with them on it and today, look what I found.

First, Matt Nathanson posted it as what he was listening to this morning. He does that all the time and it’s usually pretty good music so I pay attention when it flies across my wall. So I was pleasantly surprised to see Mumford & Sons. And then, seconds later, I saw that ThinkIndie posted a live video of “Roll Away Your Stone” and now I really want to see these guys live. I’ve also realized that I’m probably pretty late in the game to just be hearing their music, but I dig it and thank you for rad music, bro.

If you’ve opted to read this and you are someone other than Mr. Burke, kudos my friend. As a teaser for my official start to summer blog (because the last one was such a fail that I decided I’d need another), I leave you with these lyrics.

Chickity China the Chinese chicken
You have a drumstick and your brain stops tickin’
Watchin’ X-Files with no lights on
We’re dans la maison
I hope the Smoking Man’s in this one
Like Harrison Ford I’m getting frantic
Like Sting I’m tantric
Like Snickers, guaranteed to satisfy
ike Kurasawa I make mad films
Okay, I don’t make films
But if I did they’d have a Samurai
Gonna get a set a’ better clubs
Gonna find the kind with tiny nubs
Just so my irons aren’t always flying off the back-swing
Gotta get in tune with Sailor Moon
‘Cause the cartoon has got the boom anime babes
That make me think the wrong thing

If you know what song this is without googling the lyrics, please be my best friend. My first goal for this summer is to learn the lyrics and be able to successfully sing this entire song. A daunting task, I know.

Also, I’m done caring about what you think of me.

Standard

14 thoughts on “Pointless Post (unless your name is Patrick Burke)

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      No way. Can you successfully sing the entire song? It’s quite difficult. I’d kind of be really impressed if you could. Among identifying song lyrics to one-hit wonders like “One Week” there is a long list of things that grant someone instant ‘Jennifer’s best friend’ status,
      including, but not limited to:
      Enjoys Thrift Store shopping
      Sings “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” at the top of their lungs with the windows down
      Goes to the park the first day of winter
      Doesn’t mind getting lost while I’m driving
      Would rather drive around the neighborhood however many times it takes to finish a song than not be able to finish it
      Reads Color Me Katie’s Blog
      Knows that I hate leaving people voicemail messages more than most things
      Doesn’t think it’s bizarre that I meow during awkward phone silences
      Will spontaneously call me to get Snow Cones on bad days
      Instinctually knows when I’m at Jupiter House
      Is not against hitting me when I bite my nails
      Is not alarmed when I cry
      Knows that I’m not fun, accepts that, and would rather have a meaningful conversation with me than take me to a party

      If you can honestly call two or more of these things true, you may in fact just be among my absolute favorite people. I’m pretty sure you both already are, but, whatev.

      • stphn plc says:

        I’ll claim thrift store shopping (I went to denton thrift today) and doesn’t mind getting lost when you’re driving (you probably didnt intend for it to be read that way, but it was. if we got lost when I was driving and you were cool with it, I guess i would too, but i’m generally not a huge fan of getting lost. to be early is to be on time, plus i’m not a huge fan of wasting my gas)

        the three of us will have to go get snow cones some day(s) this summer

        I’m looking forward to a new post every day of this summer

      • Jennifer Lioy says:

        I peruse the men’s side of thrift stores and often find things I like there more often then I do the women’s side. That might be weird. I’m alright with weird. I found all of my favorite silk scarves, that undoubtedly belonged to someone’s deceased grandmother, at Denton Thrift so it holds a special place in my heart. I enjoy getting lost specifically when I’m driving, but only because I haven’t been lost while someone else was driving that I can remember. I hate being late more than most things, actually. It’s one of those things that makes me quite embarrassed, that’s why I don’t try and arrive places with Victoria and Macy’s family. I think they have learned to not mind it. I guess, really, I enjoy getting lost when I don’t actually have to be somewhere, preferably in a place that’s pretty or when the sky is glorious and the time is unimportant. Snow cones are a must. And Stephen, you say that now, but just wait until day 49 of my summer blogs and you’ll most definitely be annoyed with my incessant posting.

        Patrick, that song is really hard to sing, even when I read the lyrics while listening to it. I’m kind of determined though. We should practice on Monday during the Nintendo party. I’m getting better. I can’t do those crazy lines in the middle of each verse. I’m going to perfect it. I have ambitious goals, I know.

  1. Patrick says:

    they are coming to Dallas june 12, but they were sold out way back in April… and i must say I love barenaked ladies

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      I saw that, got excited, and then remembered something about you telling me that they were sold out. Bummer, for sure.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      Oh, and I realize I responded to you both regarding that ridiculously hard to learn song on Stephen’s comment. So go read it there, bro.

      • Patrick says:

        I’ll take Sings “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” at the top of their lungs with the windows down and Goes to the park the first day of winter

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      I suppose videos will suffice for now. Boo. I still want you to perform some of them live, kind sir, even if it’s just the piano pieces that I’ve heard you practice a million kajillion times. Also, I’ve watched the first couple already and thought they were incredible, as expected.

      • stphn plc says:

        of course I’ll still perform some of them for you, I’m just not sure when that will happen yet

  2. sara says:

    So when I was reading through the lyrics, I couldn’t even read them up to tempo despite the ridiculous number of times I’ve heard One Week, haha.
    Also Jeffiner, a few things:
    1. I look forward to your daily blogs and will annoy you as necessary to get them:)
    2. You have yet to sign my yearbook, miss!
    3. I love you and this font a lot
    4. Summer playlist ftw, you should make me one yesh. Please:)

Leave a Reply

