Reflection

In Other Words

I realize I haven’t written anything real in some time; my most sincere apologies go to you all. It is 10:17 and I have officially completely the perfect end to a fantastic week and had the most wonderful of days to the start to another great week ahead. Today I realized that sometimes I let seemingly important things get in the way of actually living. Sometimes it’s insecurity or my innate inhibitions, but more than anything, I let being busy get in the way of everything else. I realize that it’s important to have priorities and that sometimes you have to get things done when you’d rather be doing other things, but I think this is one of those things that’s all about balance as well. I don’t have very much fun, it’s that simple. I preoccupy myself with things that are too distracting and stressful to enjoy, use them as an excuse, and then proceed to complain about it after the fact. I think I’ve realized that it’s worth it, for me at least, so choose to do something that brings a smile to my face and joy to my life over being successful all of the time, if that makes sense. I don’t want to walk across that stage in June and feel as though I spent four years of my life letting school work and my busy lifestyle keep me from having real experiences and meaningful moments of fully living for living’s sake. Maybe I’m babbling, but that’s what you get this evening. Awards are great and begin successful is an awesome and working hard pays off, but so does having a night filled with wonderful people and making memories that won’t fade when that C+ I got on a ridiculous spanish test is merely a number on a meaningless piece of paper. It’s easy for me to complain about being unhappy whenever I’m crazy busy and letting my school work or my work work or my design work get in the way of wonderful opportunities to have a good time. It’s easier than admitting that sometimes I’m just unhappy and very down and the only person at fault is myself.

Currently Listening to Fly Me To the Moon by Frank Sinatra (my favorite Frank song, by the way)

Standard

8 thoughts on “In Other Words

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      So, I realized it would appear that way as I was writing this and almost didn’t post it because of you, to be completely honest, but really I didn’t mean to single you out at all and I apologize for making it seem that way. It was really a me thing, and it just applied to the situation this evening and I’m going to stop typing now because I’m going to keep being embarrassingly defensive. Know I wasn’t writing to make you feel bad, please.

  1. I appreciate this post. And you, Jennifer. And you, Stephen (hi Stephen!) 🙂 Alright, we don’t have many weeks left! Let’s make magic happen!!! 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Can I just tell you how perfectly you have articulated the entirety of my senior year?
    I have to remind myself daily to cheer up and try to let it go. And some days I can’t. Some days I have to spend 15 hours studying vocabulary words and ignore my puppy and the sunshine.

    But when I do remember and make an effort, it is SO worth it.

    • Jennifer Lioy says:

      And some days it’s worth it to study vocabulary words like a mad person because that’s important too! It’s when it becomes an excuse to be miserable all the time, which is what I do all too often. It’s easy for me to complain about being unhappy whenever I’m crazy busy and letting my school work or my work work or my design work get in the way of great experiences. It’s easier than admitting that sometimes I’m just unhappy and very down and the only person at fault is myself. I somewhat regret posting this blog, but I’m trying to be honest, which is what this was. Blah.

      • Jennifer Lioy says:

        I suppose that was the point I was trying to get to and just realized. I’m sticking some of that in the post, so you know.

  3. stphn plc says:

    Of course i know that you weren’t writing for me to feel bad, and i don’t; i made a decision for what i thought was the right reason and tonight’s over, so that’s that. That being said, even if you weren’t directing this at me, i should probably chill out sometimes. Life gets so heavy.

    sup Ju! and Sara!

  4. sara says:

    Maybe I’m a bit tardy in posting this but…

    SUP GIRL.

    I think we should all try to make a conscious effort to take life a little less seriously.

    HEARTS

Leave a Reply

