Reflection

Somewhere.

I will write an official New York trip recap blog when we return home, but I’m worried the feelings that I am currently feeling will not be expressible in a few days, or even tomorrow. I feel obligated to write right now, in this very moment because I realize that most of my posts, especially the writing in the moment kind, are usually quite dramatic and melodramatic, when I’m really down, upset, frustrated, or annoyed. Today, I felt none of those things. Today was a beautiful day and tonight was an indescribable night. If I were to describe this day and this evening some vague adjectives I would use include amazing, stupendous, glorious, wonderful, exciting, joy-filled, inspiring, beautiful, musical, and perfect. From enjoying a perfect cannoli in Little Italy where cute old men spoke Italian outside the adorable bakery, to shopping in the Mecca of shopping on 5th st., to taking glorious pictures in Central park, in full bloom with beautiful tulips and stunning flowered trees, to one of the top ten best nights of my entire life. West Side Story was completely incredible. I held back tears through the entire thing, but lost it after the show was over when during the curtain call, the cast invited a large number of youth choirs present at the show this evening to stand and join them in singing “Somewhere” my favorite song from the show. The entire theater was filled with awe-inpiring voices. We joined in despite our tears and it made for an incredible evening. Joy that is so overwhelming that it brings tears amidst smiles, that’s how I feel on this perfect evening, following a perfect day.

There’s a place for us. Somewhere a place for us. Peace and quiet and open air. Wait for us. Somewhere. There’s a time for us. Some day a time for us. Time together with time to spare. Time to look, time to care. Someday. Somewhere, we’ll find a new way of living. We’ll find a way of forgiving. Somewhere. There’s a place for us. A time and place for us. Hold my hand and we’re halfway there. Hold my hand and I’ll take you there.
Somehow
Someday
Somewhere

Standard

Leave a Reply

