Reflection

Jennifer is patient, Jennifer is kind. Well, sort of.

As superficial and materialistic Valentine’s Day has become, and believe me I honestly don’t recognize it as a valid holiday (even when I had a significant other), but, this year, I’m going to take a glass half-full approach and take the day as an excuse to reflect.

All too often, I try and define things that can’t be defined. It always comes up when I feel like I’m missing something vital in my life and I’m always convinced that it’s something tangible, when it’s usually very abstract. I try and define things like happiness, freedom, and of course, love. Love, for me, manages to be defined differently every time I think about it, depending on where I am in my life at that very moment. It changes and transforms, adapts, and brings all sorts of confusion. I have found that regardless of where I am, what I’m feeling, and my level of overall contentment for the day, the definition of love that 1 Corinthians 13 presents, remains the most accurate.

Someone once told me that we should all strive to embody Love. Using that idea, this same person told me that they strive to be all of the things described in that verse. So instead of ‘Love is patient, love is kind,’ it would be ‘Jennifer is patient, Jennifer is kind.’ Very cool idea that I thought I’d share.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Jennifer is patient.
Jennifer is kind.
She does not envy, she does not boast.
She is not proud, nor rude, or selfish.
She isn’t easily angered and doesn’t hold grudges.
She is not rooted in evil.
She rejoices in truth.

Looks like I have a lot to work on. I’m okay with that, I guess.

Standard

One thought on “Jennifer is patient, Jennifer is kind. Well, sort of.

Leave a Reply

