Random

2009-A Year In Questions

So, basically it’s really hard to remember so many details of the past year. It was kind of a big year. It’s almost silly to try and think of all the big moments, the highlights, and also, the low moments. The low ones don’t exactly stand out. Awesome possum. So, to get some activity stirring in ye ole’ noggin, I thought I’d answer a few questions that I stole from some random person’s blog, regarding the past year. A more reflective blog is on its way, hopefull. Love, love, love to all.

1.What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Paint, learn to draw well, gain happiness from solidarity.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I only sort of make resolutions. I don’t recall them now though…

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

I honestly don’t remember. That’s pretty bad.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Michael Lioy

November 14, 2009.

My wonderful grandfather.

5. What countries did you visit?

Only these here United states of America

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

I’m going to have to go with better time and stress management skills.

7. What date(s) from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Probably my Grandfather’s funeral, for obvious reasons. But, on a happier note, the week of the TeenACTS Retreat, also for obvious reasons.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

In the tangible sense, probably getting a perfect score at state for my design project. Spiritual achievements are in their own category, I suppose.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Probably the laziness I’ve grown accustomed to.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Well, I hurt my back in April. A herniated disk was kind of a really big deal, I suppose.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Definitely my brand new baby MacBook Pro. He’s a beauty.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

That’s an odd question. I believe I’m going to have to go with all of the activists out there. Those who make positive proactive change occur for others.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Definitely teenagers, in general. People who throw their lives away for nothing at all. People who don’t realize the repercussions of their actions.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Coffee houses, camera supply companies, Apple.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Teen ACTS ’09, Teen ACTS ’10 (woot, woot) Senior year, my eighteenth birthday.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

My anthem for this year would definitely have to be Everybody from Ingrid Michaelson’s new album. Absolutely fantastic.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

happier or sadder? That’s hard to judge. It’s definitely a new happy. Last year’s happiness was very real though.

richer or poorer? I have a job now, so richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Drawing, painting, creating.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Wasting time.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With the family, and working.

21. What’s something you’ve discovered about yourself this year?

That I crave both solidarity and people. It’s all about balance.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?

In a sense.

23. How many take-your-breath-away moments?

Quite a few. In both good ways, and not so good ways.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

So You Think You Can Dance AND Glee

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Well, hate is a strong word. I definitely have lost trust in someone that i fully trusted this time last year.

26. What was the best book you read?

I can’t think of the best, but, one noteworthy book was a novel I read entirely in Spanish. Not only did I understand it, but I really enjoyed it. So, to you, San Manuel Bueno Martir, gracias.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Hands down, Greg Holden.

28. What did you want and get?

My beautiful new Canon Rebel. He’s a beauty as well.

29. What did you want and not get?

Another lens.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Man, that’s really tough. Well, I’m probably going to have to go with a few. In no particular order: UP, Five Hundred Days of Summer, Avatar, Where the Wild Things Are,.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I had dinner with my favorite people to celebrate my EIGHTEENTH birthday

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Fulling repairing hurt relationships.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

More comfortable. Simpler. More artsy, in general.

34. What kept you sane?

My desire for faith.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

No idea. I do however have this wonderful obcession with a photographer who’s blog i will link to colormekatie.blogspot.com

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Well, healthcare stirred everyone. And what is this about our economy striving so well? Oh wait.

37. Who did you miss?

A certain friend.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Well, I kind of have a new favorite person who I may have met prior to this year, but have gotten to know very well lately. If he reads this, he’ll know I’m talking about him.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

I would say I’ve learned the importance of balance. Balancing time, balancing energy, balancing diet, balancing priorities. It’s all too important.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

From the very song writer himself, this puts the song into a bit better context:

“If you imagine holding your life in your hand and your hand is in the shape of a fist you can not receive anything else because your fist is closed, but if your are holding your life in your hands and they’re open, then you are free to receive something else and that is really what that song is about. The song is about the process of standing before God in complete transparency and realizing what I have to give is barely a comparison of what he has given me and as I hold on the love of God, I have to let go of everything else. If I want to hold on to Jesus even more then I just have to let go”

Letting Go by Matt Maher

I stand in awe of you,and everything you’ve done for me. you speak your words into my life, and where you are is where I want to be. I stand before you, Lord. Humbled by the love you give away. A widow’s mite, my will and pride. It’s all I have to offer anyway. Im holding onto your love. I’m letting go of myself. I’ll say so long to everything else. I just want to be in your arms. I just want to be in your arms. Moving ever closer to your heart. To your heart.

Standard

Leave a Reply

